With regards to reading accident reports...

In my day job I am a safety officer for an air ambulance program. My background is in health and communications, not aviation. Many people in my program have backgrounds in aviation, and I have fantastic pilots with lots and lots of experience. We have an exemplary safety record (has nothing to do with me, the program was already 25 years old before the first official safety officer - me - was hired). One of the reasons that we have such an excellent record is because we all scan the horizon and read accident reports, learn what we can from them, and implement measures to keep us from repeating the same mistakes. Something like 80-90% of all aviation accidents have human factors at the root. Not all accidents are preventable, but many of them are. One of the most dangerous of all human factors is complacency. This is where you can really benefit from reading accident reports. Many accidents are caused by complacency. This, as Ronin points out, is more often the case with more experienced 'hikers' than with inexperienced ones. I agree, and this is a point that gets discussed regularly. People who successfully navigate minefields will gain in their confidence and push their envelope. Each time they have a success at a higher risk level, they become comfortable and push the risk level higher. At some point the risk becomes greater than the individual's ability to navigate, and an accident or 'event' occurs. So, accident reports can be a humble reminder that even the super experienced can get stomped by complacency.