Okay, I've now had some nights under my belt where I've done some bear bagging. I'm no expert or anything but I wanted to report on what I found.

I tried the mason line. It certainly is strong enough for the task. For kicks I hauled my entire pack up a tree and it held fine. The weight did cause some wear on the line because of the friction against the bark but not as much as you would think. I think there is a coated mason line that might even do better at this. Mine was uncoated. Of course pulling up a heavier weight like that hurts your hands since the cord is kind of small. But for a smaller food bag it should be fine. Anyway the price was right.

I also tried the REI cord (I mentioned last time that I don't like this cord for guy lines but I thought I'd try it for bear bagging). This cord has a smooth, woven nylon, exterior. It glided very easily over the branch, easier than mason line. It's also pretty easy on the hands. However it was still a little worse for wear after just one use. The nylon exterior got a small rip in it and the white stuff inside began to come out.

I found some 550 paracord at the local surplus store. I haven't used it yet but the exterior feels similar to the REI cord so I imagine it will have no problem gliding over a branch.

Now the interesting thing comes in the technique. I tried the PCT technique and found I didn't like it.

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/bear_bag_hanging_technique.html