Gershon: Thanks for the response, I really appreciate the guidance. I know that 4 months would be a very ambitious estimate. We don't have any time constraints getting back, so we won't be rushing. With more time spent long-distance walking in similar terrain, we'll better be able to gauge our rate of travel.
I am 25 years old and my wife is 22, we're in fairly good shape, and will be beginning a scheduled walking regimen to train and prepare. Would you recommend training to a certain speed (say 3.5mph, as you suggested) and getting used to that, or walking and finding the speed that's "right for us?"

Lori: It's disappointing that you've grown jaded after so many similar, yet unsincere and unserious posts. That would be frustrating.
I can assure you that this folder is by no means my primary source of information. I am studying a number of respected books, guides, and other reference materials, studying topographical maps of my entire route, weather data, crime statistics and reports, travel narratives/blogs/posts, government travel advisories, and related films and documentaries both fictional and nonfictional. I'm talking personally to people who live in cities all along the trail. I'm taking courses at my university on wilderness survival, orienteering, and backpacking. I recognize that internet "crowdsourced" information is a collection of the opinions of individual people who may or may not be any more experienced or qualified than I am. I take each post with a boulder of salt, as my and my wife's welfare are on the line.