Jimshaw,
I carry a gun for one reason, a cop is too heavy to carry. And I mean that in a halfway serious way. I started training and shooting handguns (rifles and shotguns as a teenager) when I joined the military. I have untold thousands of hours at the range, both civilian and military, and many, many hours in CQC (indoor close quarter combat) buildings.

I think there is a common misconception, that everyone who has a concealed carry permit (here in KY you can open carry if you want) is some kind of wild eyed raving lunatic, "just itchin to do me some killin", redneck.

Far from it. Most people I know, make that everyone I know, who has a CCW permit, first of all, well you'd probably never know it, and second they are probably a lot more well trained on when not to shoot, than when to shoot. So I think that we've (those who choose to carry) been watered down here a bit, into something too simple, as to having the same mentality as the people we want to defend ourselves from. This is what the media would like you to believe.

The problem lies with those who want to do me harm. You see, they also carry concealed. Never in the open. Mostly because they have criminal histories, and can't legally have a gun. Many around here are not U.S. citizens, and they don't get a CCW, either.

I shoot with a lot of cops. Just as many more cops do as little range practice as possible, just enough to meet their departments requirements.

I have had to brandish my firearm (outside the military) one time. I would have been well within my legal rights to have shot the individual, but said individual was caught completely off guard, was visibly very shaken, and decided to concede the fight, and I let him go his own way, then dialed 911, and waited by the roadside until a Sheriff's deputy came, took a description, had me sign a short witness statement, showed him my CCW permit, and I never heard anything else about it.