Warning: Long post.

When I was a pilot in the Air Force, I got a lot of training on altitude sickness. Before saying anything, I wanted to brush up on my knowledge.

Many people think there is only one cause of altitude sickness. Hypoxia. Which is a shortage of oxygen to the brain. This can be characterized by shortness of breath like a smoker, or just a discomfort in breathing. Like air is coming in and it's not doing any good. Headaches will likely occur with exposure of a few hours. And vomiting can occur. The solution to hypoxia is simply go to a lower altitude. If a person won't walk, it may help to have them lay with their head lower than their heart. Having them drink something may help as it can be confused with dehydration. Hot chocolate is said to reduce symptoms. I saw it work in just a few minutes. In Colorado, you can legally use pot for medicinal purposes with a license. A few puffs of that may help, too.

But hypoxia isn't likely to kill anyone at reasonable altitudes unless there are other medical problems. What will kill people is the OTHER kind of altitude sickness. It's commonly called the bends which is associated with diving.

The bends is caused by nitrogen coming out of the blood and other liquids in the body when we go up in altitude. Think taking the top off a soda bottle. Most hike too slowly to go up fast enough to cause a problem, or the hills aren't steep enough. But a person who drives to a high trailhead and starts hiking quickly uphill may have a problem.

Think of what happens to a potato chip bag when you bring it up in altitude. It expands a lot and that can happen in litte tissue pockets as nitrogen is released from solution. The problem is, if you get a little tear, the pressure is released and a lot more gas comes out. It's like taking the top off a soda bottle.