In two words: HORSE DIP

You can buy it at Walmart in the pet section and it contains 15% permethrin. You can also buy a 15% solution in the insecticide aisle of most home improvement stores. Make sure it lists PERMETHRIN as the active ingredient and nothing else. Some insecticides combine permethrin with other poisons which is not good!

Now someone is going to say that this stuff isn't meant for human use, so I'm going to say DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I've been using it for at least 5 years. If you're paranoid, go buy the expensive stuff that treats just one outfit for $8. The horse dip ran me $14 and treated two outfits, bug nets, hammock, hat, and 5 pairs of socks spring/summer/fall/winter (4 treatments a year) for two years. Oh, and it kept my home spider, ant and roach free too.

Still reading? OK, now that you've got your concentrate, dilute it down to around 3% (mix one part insecticide to 4 parts water). NOTE: most of the spray on stuff is 0.5% permethrin. I suppose this it the manufacturer's way of erring on the side of caution, but the military has been using 15% permethrin solutions to treat combat fatigues for years now. I like the 3% solution as a compromise. The benefit is that one treatment lasts at least 3 months through at least 8 washings, based on personal experience.