Echoing Tango61’s recent post, and in response to JimShaw’s call for more post addressing the basics, this post addresses how to become prepared to perform first aid in the backcountry. It is based on my own experience (Boy Scout, former EMT, for CPR trainer) and the comments of others. I am not a doctor, and this post does not provide specific medical advice for medical care – it is about being prepared to act when things go wrong.

1) Get a class. American Red Cross, American Heart Association, Boy Scouts, NOLS.

2) Failing a class, or combination with one (better), get a reference and practice. Some references could include:
a. Boy Scouts: Handbook, Fieldbook, First Aid Merit Badge booklet
b. Mountaineering First Aid: A Guide to Accident Response and First Aid Care
c. American Red Cross – First Aid: When Help is Delayed
d. James Wilkerson's Medicine for Mountaineering
e. Any other current handbook on first aid

* Currency of your references matters here. The state of practice in medicine changes over time as doctors learn more about the human body and how to fix it when it breaks.

3) Build a kit that utilizes what you've learned. A kit MIGHT include items from the list below. The list below reflects my own kit, which I am constantly refining. However, first aid kits are a very personal decision. Some backpackers are comfortable carrying much less and others prefer to carry more – I am somewhere in the middle. Remember that you have to know how to use what you have, or it is just extra weight. Similarly, additional knowledge can (within limits) make up for not having a specific item.
a. CPR Mask (Microshield)
b. Rubber Gloves
c. Triangular bandages - 2; these things are all purpose for splinting and bandaging (esp. for big wounds).
d. Ace bandage – (I replaced one of 3 triangular bandages with this b/c I tend to roll ankles)
e. Some roller gauze, 2"
f. roll of two inch tape