Hi folks,

I just registered on this site and have made some use of the search feature and I gotta say, this place is great. I’m new to the world of backpacking. My only backcountry experience has been taking canoe trips to the Boundary Waters in Minnesota. Our last trip was a few weeks ago when we went for 7 days. Had an absolute blast but after 3 trips there, we’ve decided we need to branch out because there’s too much of this beautiful country we have not seen. We really want to do some backcountry hiking to get a true sense of what’s out there away from the masses.

For our first trip, we’re looking to hit up Yosemite next July/August. We really want to hit up Half Dome (not away from the masses, but kind of “have to” right?) but since that’s really only 2 days (1 if we really want to get after it), we want to take some other trails for 4-5 additional backcountry days. As things stand now, I have the following gear that could be used for this trip:
- Tent: TNF Tadpole 23 (I also have an REI Taj3 that I may let some others on our trip use if they want to carry it, but she’s bulky)
- Sleeping bag: TNF 40 degree bag (not sure of the specific name)
- Sleeping pad: Exped DownMat 7 dlx (I know it’s excessive, but man is this thing comfortable. Bought for use in the BW where most “carrying” is done by the canoe so I’ll probably opt for something lighter)
- Stove: Primus EtaPower EF (includes stove, windscreen, pot w/ heat exchanger and lid/frying pan, gripper, small canister of fuel all fits in pot w/ lid; will leave the case at home)
- Headlamp
- Water filter: Katadyn Hiker Pro and tablets as back-up
- Rain gear: Marmot Precip jacket & full zip pants
- Saw: 21” sven saw (Will probably leave this at home. Is there really any need for a saw on trips like this or is it easy enough to grab stuff lying around and break up by hand/foot?)
- Small first aid kit