For the past year I've had a GPS unit that worked with my Palm Treo. After getting frustrated with how cludgy it was for backpacking, I just bought a Garmin eTrex Vista HCx a couple of weeks ago. It does a lot of things really well, like route finding on roads, laying down waypoints, 32 hours on standard batteries, and breadcrumbing, but as I've become a little more familiar with it, I began to realize that it suffered from the same thing as the Treo, although in different ways: These things are not designed for backpackers!

Now, I'm still a noob with my eTrex, so someone out there may be able to enlighten me on the error of my ways, but allow me to lay this argument out there and see what you all think:

THE DREAM:

As a backpacker, I'd love to be able to snag a GPS generated "path" (route, track, whatever you want to call it) from one of you out there who have done a trail before, drop it into my GPS, and go. On the trail, I'd be able to use my GPS to see the exact time and distance between waypoints included by the previous backpacker, as well as dropping my own. (For sights, water holes, danger points, junctions, etc.). Back at home, I'd save my "path" and maybe upload it to the web for others to use.

This all sounds simple enough, and many of you GPSers out there may point out that this is doable today. Yes it is, to some extent, but it's a royal pain. Here's what I have to do to do this on my eTrex:

THE "TRACK" METHOD:

Download a "track" from the web, get it into my GPS using Mapsource, and use the "Track Back" feature to navigate. All this is fairly straight forward, but there are several problems with the track method:

1. Even though I have 4 Gig of memory in my eTrex, it can only store 20 "tracks", making it fairly useless for long hikes with multiple stages.