Hydration
Climbing

Backcountry Gear Clearance

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#175469 - 03/01/13 10:11 PM Winter camping
robgc Offline

Hello,

I'm new to winter camping and new to the forum. I started camping here in the michigan winter with my brother in law but he likes to build a lean to shelter with tarps and put the fire near. We make a tarp floor and put our sleeping pad and bag on that. I however just got a western mountaineering bag and am worried having it that close to the fire as well as the condensation. Do any of you camp like this and if so any suggestions how to keep my bag safe?

#175490 - 03/02/13 12:43 PM Re: Winter camping [Re: robgc]
billstephenson Offline

Loc: Ozark Mountains in SW Missouri
Well, the lean to tarp with a fire in front isn't a bad way to go, I do pretty much the same thing, but if take it a few steps further and make a "Super Shelter", where you put a plastic front panel on the lean-to you'll be warmer and protect your bag from sparks and embers.

Here's a video that shows one way to set one up. I use a piece of single layer bubble foil insulation for a floor in mine, and i made a small "Baker's Oven" style tent out of SOL emergency blankets instead of using a simple tarp. Any condensation inside the shelter will dry up fast if you restart your fire in the morning.

"You want to go where?"

#175554 - 03/05/13 09:53 AM Re: Winter camping [Re: robgc]
finallyME Offline

Loc: Utah
I would not put a WM bag next to a fire. You spent way too much on that bag to ruin it. When I winter camp, I make sure that I don't need a fire to stay warm. A fire is nice, and I do use them, but they shouldn't be a necessity.
However, if you want to sleep somewhat close to the fire, I would bring a wool blanket and cover your WM bag with it for protection.

#175555 - 03/05/13 12:28 PM Re: Winter camping [Re: finallyME]
OregonMouse Online   content

Loc: Gateway to Columbia Gorge