Hydration
Climbing

Backcountry Gear Clearance

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#125363 - 12/16/09 05:05 PM Cold Weather Boots
ZeroSix_Actual Offline

Loc: MT
I am looking to do some mountaineering with my wife this winter and we are having a hard time finding her good cold weather boots that will both keep her feet warm and be comfortable enough to hike in.

My wife is small, size 4 womans or childrens 2 1/2.

We will be in temps from -30 deg below, to 40 deg. I was hoping for something versatile between a pacboot and cold weather hiker. I would love to find quality footgear for her, I have an excellent range of boots from pac boots to cold weather hiking for myself but cannot find anything of good quality in her size.

brand recommendations anyone?

#125432 - 12/17/09 12:38 PM Re: Cold Weather Boots [Re: ZeroSix_Actual]
BrianLe Offline

Loc: Washington State, King County
I have zero experience at temps anywhere close to -30F, but with such a wide range of temps to deal with , I wonder if an overboot could be part of the solution? In particular you might look at (and find reviews on) relevant products by Neos.

#125439 - 12/17/09 01:13 PM Re: Cold Weather Boots [Re: BrianLe]
hikerduane Offline

Loc: Meadow Valley, CA