Waterproof boots

Posted by: Tom7654

Waterproof boots - 09/28/21 09:56 AM

My previous Gore-Tex boots stayed waterproof for several years, until the soles wore out. My newer Gore-Tex boots are only about 18 months old and they already leak! What is your experience with durability? Also is there a good way to make them waterproof again? Silicone spray didn't work, and most other products seem to be mainly for leather (although some mention fabric boots too). I don't want to spend much, I might be better off buying new boots.
Posted by: UrbanYeti

Re: Waterproof boots - 09/28/21 10:05 AM

Not sure about Gor-Tex but I have been using Thorogood logger boots for many years. They have kept my feet dry when trudging through deep snow for 6-7 hours a day on weekends with no complaints. They are made so they can be re-souled if you have a cobbler near you.
Posted by: Bill Kennedy

Re: Waterproof boots - 09/28/21 01:39 PM

I think since the boots are constantly flexing in the same places, the W/B membrane wears out earlier than it would, say, in a jacket. I don't think there's any way to repair it, but you could add some water repellance with Nikwax for Fabric & Leather. Waterproof socks could be used to get some extra life out of them, although they're expensive.

My Keen Targhees lasted quite a few years, but were only used on backpacking trips and very occasionally at home. They eventually started leaking. I had several pairs of Lowa boots (Klondike and Renegade) that came apart before the Gore-Tex ever failed.

If you need them for snow camping, new boots are probably in order.
Posted by: BZH

Re: Waterproof boots - 09/28/21 04:12 PM