gear buying help

Posted by: Marc

gear buying help - 07/15/09 04:35 PM

backcountry.com just emailed me yesterday with an offer to buy anything at half off.
I was estatic. Here is my credit card ... load me up.
I should mention that it is only one item half off but I was still excited. My brain ran through my wish list like Dick Butkus through a Packer left guard.
There is nothing on my list that they have.
Not the tent I want, not the cookset I want, not the GPS I want, nothing.
I have the sleeping bag and pad I want. Nothing else.
They must have something I need and am totally unaware of.
I have told you I am totally new to this, I intend to spend the entire summer ( hopefully 2010 ) in Yellowstone regardless of any obstacles.
Clothes will be the last thing I buy. They were the first things I bought: boots,pants,t-shirts,longunderwear,etc. Six months of retirement has made me rethink the pants. Point being clothes will have to wait ( or weight ).
There must be something I need, and only asking experienced people will give me that answer. I would hate to be miles from anywhere and wish I had it.
Any advice and help you can give me ( on top of the mountain of help already given ) would be very much appreciated.
Posted by: jpanderson80

Re: gear buying help - 07/15/09 06:00 PM

What type of hiking will you be doing?

Will you be living on the trail for days or weeks at a time... OR... will you be taking short 1-2 day hikes?
Posted by: Pika

Re: gear buying help - 07/15/09 06:03 PM

The only advice I can give you is to check your gear list against those of contributors to this forum and others and to look for items you feel you might need. I have one posted at http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpack...a40f980fecd.pdf that has changed little and mainly in the tent I now use.