Precooked bacon?

Posted by: Mr. Jowee

Precooked bacon? - 12/20/14 11:39 PM

I've never tried it before. Looks to be pretty calorie dense (130 calories per ounce), mostly from fat. Nutritional info can be found here: https://mobile.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/oscar-mayer/fully-cooked-bacon?showFacts=True .

Anyone tried this stuff?
Posted by: bluefish

Re: Precooked bacon? - 12/21/14 05:41 AM

The Oberto company makes bacon jerky that is very near to tasting like the real thing. I found out about it from AT thru hikers. It's become a staple in our packs.
Posted by: aimless

Re: Precooked bacon? - 12/21/14 02:39 PM

I've used precooked bacon as part of my backcountry meals at least a dozen times over the past 5 years. It works for me. Just realize it will add a fair amount of salt to whatever you put it in.
Posted by: dkramalc

Re: Precooked bacon? - 12/22/14 01:53 AM

+1 for the Oberto bacon jerky. I bought a pack from Amazon recently, opened it at home one evening just before bedtime "just to test one little bit" and ended up scarfing the entire package. blush It was amazing. And the texture was just how I like my bacon done - cooked but not too dry and crunchy.

Now I have two more packages, and have pledged not to open them until I am on a backpacking trip with them. You are all my witnesses.
Posted by: ratbastard

Re: Precooked bacon? - 01/14/15 05:50 PM

Boars head precooked Bacon is a bit pricier than its competition but it come in two separate plastic bags, which is nice for portioning.
Posted by: PaHiker

Re: Precooked bacon? - 02/12/15 10:25 AM

I tried it once, limp, if you like your bacon that way. I have also made my own bacon at home (fully cooked) and taken it along with no problems. If you're adding it into a recipe Bacos is probably cheaper, and tastes the same.