Laying tarp over tent hoop + footprint?

Posted by: Winfried

Laying tarp over tent hoop + footprint? - 05/22/17 03:28 PM

Hello,,

I'm pretty new to camping as an easy and cheap way to travel by bike.

To get my feet wet without making costly mistakes, I bought a cheap NatureHike Cloud UP 2, which appears to be a Chinese knock-off of the Big Agnes Fly Creek.
I've only used it a few times, including two nights under heavy rain, and am happy with how it performed… but I'd like to save on the weight and the volume it takes.

So I was wondering if it'd be possible to just keep the hoop (343g, folded 37cm), the independent footprint it was sold with (250g), and pegs (120g), and simply lay a light tarp over it:

Besides the saving in weight + volume, I won't have poles in the middle and it might even be faster to install than a regular tarp.

What do you think?

Thank you.
Posted by: the-gr8t-waldo

Re: Laying tarp over tent hoop + footprint? - 05/22/17 05:29 PM

I'm not totally sure what your asking about,,, wasn't the tent sold with a "rain fly"? (goes on the very top of the tent and cut and sewn to maintain a water shedding shape). A light tarp would, in most configurations, be a lot heavier than a made fly. and the "foot print" goes between the tent bottom and the earth. it's there that a tarp could be substituted for a ome footprint. but still likely to be heavier

Re: Laying tarp over tent hoop + footprint? - 05/22/17 07:05 PM

Sorry, I don't know the right terms.

Yes, the tent is a double layer. To save on weight + volume, I was thinking of only keeping this…

… and just putting an ultra-light tarp on top.

Currently, the whole double-layer setup weighs 1.8kg and takes a bit too much space on my folding bike.

Has anyone tried it?

Thank you.
Posted by: Glenn Roberts

Re: Laying tarp over tent hoop + footprint? - 05/22/17 10:52 PM