Newbie in Central NC

Posted by: MDK88

Newbie in Central NC - 11/15/14 11:50 AM

Hello,
I have done a decent amount of car camping growing up but I have graduated college, have a full time job and do not yet have a family so I want to branch out and start doing some serious backpacking/camping while I am young and have the time.
I am new to this and am trying to glean as much knowledge as I can on this forum.
To start with, I am looking for good places in NC to do overnight backpacking trips. It seems most places require you to camp in designated "camping areas". I want to hike out and set up camp wherever I want and just enjoy nature without it being regulated. There seem to be very few places in NC to do this.
Any advice for starting out and where to go for beginner overnight backpacking trips is greatly appreciated! Thank you very much!
Posted by: ETSU Pride

Re: Newbie in Central NC - 11/29/14 02:55 PM