Multi Day Water System

Posted by: thekeyboardk

Multi Day Water System - 06/23/14 10:46 AM

Hey guys I'm new to backpacking. I've done my homework and have came up with a water system:

Platypus Big Zip 3L... 5 oz
Nalgene Ultralight 1L(an oxymoron, I know)... 3oz
Sawyer Mini Filter, syringe, and 16 Fl ounce bag... 2 oz

Summary, 10 oz, 4L, lasts 100,000 gallons (I think)

My plan is to go a water source, and filter right then and there, and then move. I would primarily drink from the platy, the Nalgene would be mostly for washing up, cooking, ect.

I have three questions:

1. Would the big zip and nalgene thread with the sawyer properly?

2. Should I carry another nalgene UL?

3. Have you had any experience with platys malfunctioning in the field? Is this a concern?

Thanks guys! Any input is appreciated!

Posted by: AdventureMyk

Re: Multi Day Water System - 06/23/14 11:01 AM

I haven't got that much personal experience with the Platypus though I use their 4.0 gravityworks. I have yet to have any issues with it nor have those I have come across. Heck, this past weekend there were 3 other groups running the same set-up. I'm the only one that was using the carbon-filter (turns out there is no taste in the water here to filter so I'm leaving it at home next time).

I have, however, heard a few issues both on the forums and in the field of the sawyer system blocking easily and not wanting to back-flush or clear. The platypus as long as you follow the directions works great.

(start the flow, let about 1/4 liter or so come in, reverse it to purge the system of air, then it flows quickly. When you are done filtering back-flow about 1/4 liter to clear it out. That's it.)

Re: Multi Day Water System - 06/23/14 11:32 AM

I was referring to platypus bladders, not filters, but thanks anyway. I'm not sure about the gravity works, it seems a little bulky.

Do you know if the squeeze is anymore reliable than the mini?
Posted by: AdventureMyk