Shoes (and socks?) for walking in London and Peru

Posted by: DomDom

Shoes (and socks?) for walking in London and Peru - 06/11/14 09:22 AM

Hi everyone,

My name is Dom and this is my first time in this kind of forum and hicking in general.
I don't know if this is the right place to write, if not sorry about that.

I am going to attend the Inca Trail in Peru, so I was wondering which kind of shoes should I buy to be as much comfortable as possible.
Besides, I also walk so much every day in London, so I would like to buy also a pair of shoes which would be good for walking through the City (one pair of shoes which would suite both these purposes would be ideal, maybe something water-proof as well).

Oh, I know that a good pair of socks can make the differenze too, so do you know any particular type of socks as the best choiche, not just for the incatrail, but for someone who walks A LOT in general?
Could you please suggest me a shop in London where I could by these shoes and socks?

Thank you very much for your time, have a lovely day!

Re: Shoes (and socks?) for walking in London and Peru - 06/13/14 12:44 PM

anyone?
Posted by: squark

Re: Shoes (and socks?) for walking in London and Peru - 06/13/14 02:03 PM

Fit is paramount, as well as highly individual, which might be why people are reluctant to make recommendations. I have never shopped for shoes in London, but I would be very surprised if you could not find a shop oriented towards trekking gear, particularly near the universities. An hour's train ride to Cambridge or Oxford would certainly find you 3 or 4 such.

For socks, wool and synthetics tend to be preferred over cotton for moisture management. In the US, where most of this site's members are based, some popular brands include Icebreaker (my personal favorite), Smartwool, and Darn Tough.
Posted by: Glenn Roberts

Re: Shoes (and socks?) for walking in London and Peru - 06/13/14 06:53 PM