Newbie Food storage question

Posted by: zily

Newbie Food storage question - 12/26/12 12:15 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to the backpacking scene, and am planning a sort of practice backpacking trip across 4 state parks in hill country texas (Pedernales, enchanted rock, colorado bend, Inks lake).

I think I've ironed out most of the details, but I'm kind of stumped now on my nightly food storage and the precautions I need to take with it.

It's in a state park in a designated primitive backpacking site. Do I need to cook my meals away from my tent and store my food stuffs and toothpaste hanging from a tree limb? Or can I jam everything I own into the vestibule and just shoo off opossums every once in a while? Or should I just ask the park rangers?

Thanks guys. I'm really excited to get out into the woods and check out some stars.

-daniel
Posted by: aimless

Re: Newbie Food storage question - 12/26/12 01:26 AM

You should be prepared to hang food if necessary, but asking the park rangers is an excellent idea, because they should know what the critter problems look like in their park and what precautions are advisable.
Posted by: rockchucker22

Re: Newbie Food storage question - 12/26/12 10:37 AM

Welcome to the forum Daniel! In your area I bet the biggest problem would be raccoons. They are very clever, and will dig into your food. As previously mentioned hanging is always a good idea. I also like the idea of asking your local ranger. Enjoy and be safe!
Posted by: finallyME

Re: Newbie Food storage question - 01/04/13 10:23 AM

I would ask the rangers first. But, when I hiked enchanted rock, I just kept the food in the tent with me. There aren't any big predators to worry about (well there are occasional cougars, and coyotes, along with lots of people).