looking to go backpacking in Colorado need help

Posted by: PatrickT

looking to go backpacking in Colorado need help - 08/16/11 02:55 PM

hi there

I live in the Houston TX area i have been backpacking for a few years now, but just here in Texas. I am looking at going on a trip in july 2012 to Colorado. I know i am starting early, but i am trying to find a great place to go. I am not really sure were to start looking and what all i need to do to start preparing. I have found many beautiful places. I was thinking i might try the Ice Lakes Trail in the San Juan Mountains, but i am up for any suggestions. There will be 3 people going including me. We are looking to go for 3 or 4 days. I personally have never been to Colorado and i have heard it is really pretty up there thats why we have pick Colorado, but i am up for any suggestions for a great place to hike to.

Thanks for the help Pat
Posted by: oldranger

Re: looking to go backpacking in Colorado need help - 08/16/11 06:03 PM

Almost anywhere is Colorado will be way prettier than Houston. Just throw a dart at a map....
Posted by: Gershon

Re: looking to go backpacking in Colorado need help - 08/16/11 07:07 PM

I live in Colorado. There are a lot of great trails here, but documentation is hard to find on many of them.

I'd suggest picking from segments of the Colorado Trail. You can buy the guide books and data books at http://www.coloradotrail.org/

Being from low altitude, I'd suggest segment 1 as a start. Given you only have 3 or 4 days, you could do the first 2 or 3 segments. Keep in mind, much of the Colorado Trail still had snow on it in July. Mostly in the higher altitudes.

If you want to take it easy (around 5 miles a day) segment 14 is my favorite, but I haven't seen all the segments.