New guy in Bay Area California

Posted by: tstrenuous10

New guy in Bay Area California - 06/21/10 10:44 AM

Hey everyone I'm new to backpacking but it's always looked interesting to me. Just looking for a good place to start, some good trails to test myself on, good tips to learn, etc. I'm looking to learn a TON of information from the site and start putting gear together so I can get started with backpacking more and more. I know I have a TON to learn since I grew up using a trailer and backpacking is WAY different. Just wanted to introduce myself since I didn't see an introduction area.
Posted by: lori

Re: New guy in Bay Area California - 06/21/10 12:34 PM

Welcome aboard!

One of the great ways to meet folks to backpack with is to join a group - there a bunch of hiking groups at meetup.com, and you can google the INCH hiker page as well. Tons of hikes in your area, and some meetup groups travel into the Sierra for backpacks on a regular basis. Renting or borrowing gear for a while can be helpful - I did neither and ended up with a lot of stuff I discovered did not work for me, then going to the trouble of reselling them to get gear that does work for me.

There are a bunch of great articles on the home page of this site, if you haven't already found them.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: New guy in Bay Area California - 06/21/10 02:58 PM

Welcome! Here's a link to the excellent articles Lori mentioned that are in the left-hand column of http://www.backpacking.net/, the home page of this site.

Please feel free to come back with more questions once you've read them!

Re: New guy in Bay Area California - 06/21/10 03:41 PM

I've been told to look at the Ultrilight Backpackers guide (believe that's the title) to get some ideas for gear if I want to get into this more and more and get the stuff I'll like in time.