Opinion's on my gear list

Posted by: wesarnold

Opinion's on my gear list - 03/24/10 04:56 AM

I'm new to backpacking, but very eager to get out there and truly disconnect from the repetitive insanity that is the rest of my life. Thus I've researched and researched and finally brought it down to this list of gear. Some stuff I've already got, some stuff I have yet to obtain - but none-the-less this list will be used as a check-list before my first over-nighter. There aren't specific brands or models of gear - although I've got that list too. The particular make and model of what gear one obtains seems to be so much more of a personal preference. I just wanted to post it up and let you guys take a gander and give any comments or suggestions.

My first trip I'm planning will be at Oak Mountain State Park in AL, as I'm from Birmingham.

Here it goes:

Backpacking Gear List
1. Backpack (w/ rain cover)
2. Tent
3. Sleeping Bag (w/ stuff sack)
4. Lights (headlamp, and handheld w/ extra batteries)
5. Stove and Utensils (spork, cup, bowl)
6. Water filtration/purification (filter and/or chemical)
7. Water bottle x2 (1L/ea.)
8. Knife and/or multi-tool
9. First Aid Kit and personal medications
10. Sun screen
11. Sun Glasses
12. Bug Spray
13. Blistex
14. GPS (and compass with paper topographic map)
15. Fire starter (waterproof matches, lighter)
16. Tent Repair Kit (dental floss with sewing needles)
17. Toilet paper and trowel
18. Duct Tape (can’t go anywhere without it)
19. Camera
20. Bear hanging/multi-use rope
21. Assorted Zip-lock freezer bags

22. Clothing (all 100% synthetic or wool and quick drying) (w/ stuffsack(s))
- Shirt
- Shorts
- Pants
- Hat
- Underwear x2 pair
- Socks x2 pair + liner socks
- Fleece jacket
- Fleece pants
- Rain jacket
- Long Johns
23. Hygiene
- Toothbrush and toothpaste
- Soap (biodegradable)
- Towel
24. Food
- High protein snacks (clifbar Roks)
- Oatmeal
- Gtrits
- Gorp
- Mac & cheese
- Ramon Noodles
- Chicken in a bag
- Beef Jerky
- Hot dogs