New to Forum, Site... and to backpacking...

Posted by: UWGMiMi

New to Forum, Site... and to backpacking... - 06/29/09 03:02 PM

I sincerely hope I'm in the right place to post; as my subject reads I'm new to all aspects of backpacking/hiking in general. My father tried to teach me when I was younger and I didn't really listen... Dad's been gone for three years now and I've been in a rut for the last seven. When he became sick, I lost all sense of me and what was important and while I'm still dealing with his death (he passed in my arms), I hear the outdoors calling my name again STRONGLY.

I really want to get back in touch with simple things, wholesome things... nature and all its beauty and wisdom.

My question is: where can I go within my location (just SW of Atlanta, GA) to seek instruction? I don't want to go blindly into the outdoors- I want to respect it and have it respect me in generally.

I'd ideally like to be prepared as much as I can before I start on trails again. Heck, I'd even welcome any friendship that came from my new venture into life.

Again, I hope I have the right section for posting this... if I don't, I do apologize.

Thank you in advance for any information you can point my way!

Warmly,
MiMi
Posted by: Pika

Re: New to Forum, Site... and to backpacking... - 06/29/09 03:09 PM

Check and see whether there is a local chapter of the Sierra Club or the Appalachian Trail Club in your area or near enough that you can get there. Both of these organizations sponsor group hikes and outings. These are a good way to ease into the pastime with the guidance of people who are already familiar with it. Welcome and good luck!
Posted by: thecook

Re: New to Forum, Site... and to backpacking... - 06/29/09 03:39 PM

My local REI stores also sponsor hikes, training session, and an occasional group camping trip. Check with your local store.

Re: New to Forum, Site... and to backpacking... - 06/29/09 03:52 PM