Carrying a Sleeping Bag

Posted by: worldchamp19

Carrying a Sleeping Bag - 02/21/09 08:24 PM

Can everyone give me suggestions on attaching a sleeping bag onto a backpack? It works great when I put it to the bottom horizontal but I think I need to hang it vertical.
Yes I'm a beginner.
Posted by: lori

Re: Carrying a Sleeping Bag - 02/21/09 09:12 PM

Welcome to the board! smile

I'd put it inside the backpack, in a waterproof stuff sack, inside a pack liner, because I carry down quilts and don't like putting $500 in gear on the outside of the pack where a branch or random trip and fall into a stream will totally unmake my day. Sleeping pads, the tarp, the hammock, those I've put in pack outer pockets or strapped on the bottom or down the side.
Posted by: Glenn

Re: Carrying a Sleeping Bag - 02/21/09 10:18 PM

What kind of pack are you using? From the way you describe it, it almost sounds like you're using an external frame pack. If so, you're approaching it right; you'll definitely want to use a stuff sack for the bag, though.

If it's an internal frame pack, the sleeping bag should go inside, usually at the bottom of the pack. A stuff sack isn't strictly necessary (I just stuff mine in loose, so it fills all the space) - but if you use one, you might want to use a fairly large one, so you can mold it into the bottom of the pack, too.
Posted by: Wolfeye

Re: Carrying a Sleeping Bag - 02/22/09 01:02 PM

Back when I used an outer frame pack I'd lash it onto the top or bottom of the pack horizontally. It would catch on brush and get wet when it rained. (It's a good idea to use a waterproof stuffsack in this situation.) Now I have an internal frame pack, and the sleeping bag packs inside where it's protected.