Charging Electronics when Backpacking

Posted by: Calum Warden

Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/03/20 12:51 PM

I am a product design student looking to design an electronics charging device that is seamless, lightweight, practical and does not reply on a mains power supply.

I have created a quick survey to understand how backpackers charge their devices and interact with their charging devices.

Would really appreciate if people could fill this survey as user research is a huge part of coming up with the best solution.

I have posted the link below, many thanks.

[Moderator removed link to survey located outside forums]

Posted by: balzaccom

Re: Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/03/20 10:14 PM

I don't take any electronics that require charging on my backpacking trips. Only a small phone that lasts for at least two weeks...
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/04/20 11:57 AM

Same here--no rechargeables--I carry extra batteries only for my camera. My headlamp uses lithium batteries and they last for months. To be sure, I put new batteries in before each trip.
Posted by: BZH

Re: Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/04/20 05:24 PM

What is there to design? you want the most mAhr in the lightest smallest package.
Posted by: aimless

Re: Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/06/20 08:48 PM

I take nothing that requires recharging on the trail. I take almost nothing electronic. I find that electronics tend to be heavy for the functionality they deliver and when you add in a recharging unit of some sort they become even heavier. No thanks.
Posted by: Arizona

Re: Charging Electronics when Backpacking - 11/19/20 05:00 PM