GPS that send out sms (is one out yet)

Posted by: aspenedelen

GPS that send out sms (is one out yet) - 08/22/11 09:37 AM

In a month my ten month old son and I are taking a roadtrip fronm S. Dakota to Labrador, Canada. Is there a device out yet (Delorme comes out in Oct) that is a gps but also allows you to send out short sms messages to whomever letting them know you are safe? I don't want the wife to flip out when I don't contact her for two or three days b/c I won't have cell coverage.

thanks for the help
Posted by: oldranger

Re: GPS that send out sms (is one out yet) - 08/22/11 05:02 PM

Spot 2?

I have no experience with this unit. I understand it will transmit your location to selected persons, as well as routine, preformatted messages ("having wonderful time. Wish you were here") via the internet.

Spot products are no stranger to consumer recalls, and the above capability requires a subscription service which is a no-go for me.

Now that I think about it - I had no cell phone coverage for the first FIFTY years of my existence. Can you imagine the pain, the horrors, and the agony? I and others like me who endured these circumstances (no twitter and facebook, either) deserve at the very least a national holiday, complete with parades and speeches, as well as generous pensions......
Posted by: Gershon

Re: GPS that send out sms (is one out yet) - 08/22/11 09:53 PM

I have a SPOT I which is supposed to be more reliable than a SPOT II. It sends out my position every 10 minutes if I remember to turn it on.

Here is a track from my last trip.

I program the OK button to send an OK SMS message as well as an email at the start and the end of the day or if we stop for a long time during the day.

I use the "Help" button to request non-life threatening help. If it's at a road, it's simply a request to be picked up. If it's on a trail, it's a non-medical problem. For instance we are lost, but can hold out a few days while we wait for help.