Numb hands. Poor circulation?

Posted by: Jmeyers

Numb hands. Poor circulation? - 02/21/11 06:21 AM

Hey all, yesterday I was hiking with a friend of mine and she was telling me how when she hikes she loses feeling in her hands. It was the last of the nice weather so it wasn't the cold, I suggested that it could be her pack straps cutting off blood flow to her arms but I'm not a doctor so I don't know. It's possible she just has poor circulation but her other extremities were fine. Any insight on this?
Posted by: lori

Re: Numb hands. Poor circulation? - 02/21/11 10:01 AM

The pack strap theory is easy to test. If the pack isn't putting any pressure on her shoulders, it's not that. If the straps are too tight, tighten the hip belt and loosen the straps, adjusting the weight onto her hips. If that isn't possible, wrong size pack, or just the wrong pack.

My hands used to swell and do get tingly when it's very cold. Eventually the fingertips go numb. The swelling goes away if I use them while hiking - to hold something or use trekking poles. The cold is easy, wear glove liners/gloves appropriate to the temps, or hike with hands in pockets.

I doubt it's the blood flow theory....
Posted by: BrianLe

Re: Numb hands. Poor circulation? - 02/21/11 10:48 AM

I imagine it would be difficult for even a medical professional to diagnose this from "afar", especially with so little information. You might look up Raynaud's phenomenon; I've known a surprising number of hikers who have that, but I believe it isn't just hands but also feet --- were her feet cold too?

And was she wearing gloves or mittens or any sort of handwear? Was it windy at all?

It certainly couldn't hurt for her to get a pair of decent mittens (not gloves). It also might not be a bad idea to write down complete details of this --- especially if it recurs --- and bring it up at her next physical exam with an actual doctor.
Posted by: billstephenson

Re: Numb hands. Poor circulation? - 02/21/11 01:47 PM