stove?

Posted by: Cruzzer

stove? - 08/24/08 07:37 AM

I'm new to the hiking thing and usually camp off my motorcycle then do day hikes. I'm looking for a new stove to keep on the bike..looked at jetboil, and several others,, found an exponent firestorm kit, multifuel, white gas or butane,, at a local outfitter.. He had them marked down from $140 to $60 to clear off his shelves of all the older stuff.. are these anygood? for the price I'm thinking it be worth it??
Not as light as I'd like,, but I would have to bring the whole kit every time,, just the part I'm going to use..
What ya all think??
Steve
Posted by: Howie

Re: stove? - 08/24/08 11:14 AM

Steve: I know nothing of multifuel stoves, but it seems to me they were designed so if a particular fuel were not available, one could switch to something else. They likely are very useful for those traveling around the world. For most guys like us on motorcycles or hiking, such a stove is a waste in my opinion. In my younger days I toured and camped on a motorcycle and now I log some miles hiking. I have never found anything more convenient and economical than a butane stove. No fuel to spill. Nothing to pump or pour. Simply screw on the cylinder and light it up. Very fast for cooking. A cylinder seems to go a long way for me because it takes such little time to heat things up. A 5 or 6 dollar cylinder would likely last you a week. I don’ t know about where you live, but where I live butane or iso-butane (butane/propane mix) is readily available at most hardware stores. A good butane stove is only about $50.00 too. That is what I think. That is my recommendation.

Howie

Re: stove? - 08/24/08 01:09 PM

Howie,,