MBA Student seeking input - hiking product project

Posted by: Wilson Meyer

MBA Student seeking input - hiking product project - 06/14/14 10:57 AM

Hello everyone. I'm an MBA student, long distance hiker. I would really appreciate some input regarding a project my team and I are working on. It's a portable atmospheric water generator that actually works.

If you're a long distance hiker or could stand to benefit from this product, please address the questions listed at the bottom.

Note:  We are aware there are other similar products on the market. However, ours would improve on existing technology and be more affordable.

Q: As a hiking enthusiast, do you see any value in owning a portable atmospheric water generator?

Q: If we can offer you an affordable, portable atmospheric water generator, would you consider purchasing one for
for future hikes?
Posted by: Glenn Roberts

Re: MBA Student seeking input - hiking product project - 06/14/14 05:06 PM

Question: What's the output rate?

Question: Does it have to be stationary to work? (If yes, will it work in the dark? The only time hikers are stationary for any extended length of time is at night. I know, it's solar powered - but solar powered sidewalk lights work at night.)

Question: Does it freeze up in cold weather? (I could see minimal value for me if it worked in the winter, and I could avoid melting snow.)

Question: How much does it weigh, and how big (bulky) is it? (This is a lightweight hiking website, so someone's gonna ask. But, weight is relative: 8 ounces would be too heavy to be of any value to me, but 2 pounds might be reasonable if it worked in the desert.)

Answers to your questions:
Any value in owning one? Not for me; it solves a problem I don't have. However, that's a personal answer, skewed by the fact that I live in the eastern US, and water availability is not usually an issue. Someone who hikes in the Southwest may see things differently.

Would I buy one? No.
Posted by: wandering_daisy