Green steel Army bottle thingy's ?!

Posted by: joshua3299

Green steel Army bottle thingy's ?! - 06/07/13 04:33 PM

So for a while now I have seen these type of army canteen/bottles being recommended but I have no idea what their purpose is and why they are better than any other bottle, could someone please fill me in.

and yes i'm a noob so sorry if i did something wrong lol
Posted by: aimless

Re: Green steel Army bottle thingy's ?! - 06/07/13 05:01 PM

The point of a water bottle is to hold water and not leak. Oh, and not contaminate your water, either. Since you have to carry it, a lightweight bottle that meets these requirements is better than a heavy bottle (like steel). Since you have to pay for it, a cheap bottle is better than an expensive one.

For all the reasons given above, a lot of people just carry a supermarket-variety plastic water, soda or gatorade bottle that they refill with water. They work, rarely leak, cost nearly nothing, weigh very little and are dirt simple to replace.

I use Platypus bottles myself because I can roll them up when they are empty and they don't take up space. They are also more durable than the cheapie plastic water bottles.
Posted by: JPete

Re: Green steel Army bottle thingy's ?! - 06/07/13 05:47 PM

Find this one confusing. Don't remember noticing any recommendations for any military bottles. The only green Army bottles that I can think of are the plastic canteens that replaced the old aluminum ones about the time I got in (Korea).

If that's what you are thinking about, I still have one, along with the cover, belt, webbing and butt pack I was issued, and still use it once in a blue moon, since the canteen cup and "cup holder" fit inside the cover around the canteen, and form a fairly efficient way to boil water (you need a commercial cover or foil for the cup) and it's fairly compact.