Sleeping bag choices

Posted by: everlastingstorm

Sleeping bag choices - 10/21/12 11:21 PM

I am thinking about getting a new sleeping bag for backpacking trips in mostly northern California...I am new to backpacking though I hike frequently and I have gone car camping quite a few times. I do have a pack, and I have a tent.

I have a 20 degree bag that's worked for me for car camping situations. It's synthetic, apparently 2 lbs., and it is kind of bulky, but I can pack it down enough to fit into the sleeping bag compartment of my pack. However it is a very inexpensive bag I brought on sale at the sports authority, so not what one might call a great reputable bag (it's an Alpine Design, so not a north face, mountain hardwear, etc.). I'm fine with keeping it for car camping, but I would like to begin backpacking and camping in the mountains, and eventually get into mountaineering, where it would be mostly colder.

Should I bother with getting a 0 degree bag? Is it worth it being that I have the 20 that can fit into my pack? I am not looking to spend an arm and a leg, so I'm looking at synthetics. Particularly, I'm a short guy so I am looking at the Mountain Hardwear Lamina 0 deg. bag in a short from REI. Thoughts? Opinions?

Posted by: balzaccom

Re: Sleeping bag choices - 10/22/12 12:04 AM

First of all, I don't think you should buy a bag until you know where you are going. If your bag is good to 20 degrees, that's all that you would need in the Sierra from May-June until now. The conditions you will find when you are backpacing are not significantly different from those you would find car camping in Tuolumne Meadows or Ebbetts Pass, for example.

Winter is a whole different question.

But I doubt that your bag is two pounds, synthetic, and warm down to 20 degrees. The best down bags meet that criteria, but they cost hundreds of dollars.

Start with a trip that you want to take...then decide if you need any new equipment to make it happen.