Alps Mountaineering

Posted by: ajb149

Alps Mountaineering - 05/01/12 11:53 AM

As mentioned in another thread I'm a little new to all this and in the process of acquiring gear. I came across an Alps Mountaineering Lynx 2 tent at a really good price, the only problem is that I know next to nothing about the company.

The prices for most of their stuff seems a little on the low side, but knowing what I do about companies in other areas (fishing equipment, tools, etc) sometimes you come across a smaller, unknown company that produces top quality stuff at lower quality prices just to get a foothold in the market. I was wondering if that's the case here?

As far as reviews on the internet, there really aren't a whole lot to give me something definitive. There don't seem to be more than 3 reviews on any single piece of equipment. Overall I'd say there seems to be 70% that claim its great quality at a great price and 30% that say the exact opposite.

Any personal experiences and advice would be greatly appreciated.
Posted by: billstephenson

Re: Alps Mountaineering - 05/01/12 12:31 PM

I love the design of those tents, they are incredibly easy and fast to set-up. The down side to that particular one is it is a bit heavy at over 5lbs.

If you're backpacking with a friend and intend on sharing the tent, then the weight isn't bad, but if you're using it by yourself you can probably find some lighter alternatives that will work as well for you.

Tell us where and when will you be doing most of your backpacking and we can probably offer some suggestions.
Posted by: Smiley

Re: Alps Mountaineering - 05/01/12 09:35 PM

I have two of there sleep pads which are very comfortable to sleep on. They are not as compact as some other brands so I use them for car camping. Have looked at there tents but not tried one.
Posted by: PDA

Re: Alps Mountaineering - 05/04/12 06:05 PM