Steripen - Reviews needed

Posted by: WOOKIE

Steripen - Reviews needed - 03/29/10 07:07 PM

Does anyone own one or has used one? If so what are your opinions? What model stripen works the best or would be recommended? PLZ HELP!
Posted by: ChrisFol

Re: Steripen - Reviews needed - 03/29/10 07:11 PM

Originally Posted By WOOKIE
Does anyone own one or has used one? If so what are your opinions? What model stripen works the best or would be recommended? PLZ HELP!

No direct experience, but backpackinggeartest.org has a few field tests for verious models.

http://www.backpackgeartest.org/reviews/Water%20Treatment/
Posted by: ndsol

Re: Steripen - Reviews needed - 03/29/10 07:46 PM

Did you do a search for "steripen"? Plenty of discussions about it.
Posted by: Pika

Re: Steripen - Reviews needed - 03/29/10 07:58 PM

I have been using one for about 4 years now. I have the Adventurer. They are finicky about batteries and you need to read and follow the instructions carefully to use it successfully. Some people, myself included, have arthritis in their hands and can have problems using the switch. Given that, I have had no problems with mine and it has had around five months of field use averaging about three liters treated per day.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Steripen - Reviews needed - 03/29/10 08:50 PM

I had a lot of problems with a Steripen Adventurer and returned it after one trip. First, the switch was so stiff that I couldn't turn it on and off without help--not a good idea when most of my trips are solo. Second, it kept aborting in mid-cycle, forcing me to treat each quart 2-3 times. Third, sitting by a buggy creek stirring and stirring is not my idea of fun. If you're going with a group and you must use the Steripen, then everyone should have their own and treat his/her own water.