Food storage

Posted by: marcinont

Food storage - 08/02/10 04:20 PM

I am new to lite backing but have been interior camping for 25 years .I'm not use to having to live on freeze dried food. I'm thinking of using a rectangler tupperware container to pack my food, I feel it is a organized way to contain all my freezedried packages plus other goods that is water proof and will easily pack in my pack.Also easy to put in a dry sack and hang.Any coments on this or better ideas.The bear vault seams bulky.My container is 8.5" x 13"x 3".
thanks
marcinont.
Posted by: thecook

Re: Food storage - 08/02/10 04:54 PM

If it helps you pack, go for it. Personally, a big container like that would be hard for me to fit in my pack, and would add weight I really don't want or need. It is not in any sense bear or animal resistant, just an organizational tool.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Food storage - 08/02/10 05:41 PM

A tupperware container is neither bear nor rodent proof (I've had mice gnaw through them). It is not really odor proof, either, It will definitely not be legal if you are backpacking where a bear canister is required. It will also be more difficult to pack a rigid container in your pack than a flexible one, as I found out recently when I did have to use the bear canister.

I personally use an Ursack with an OP sack liner except for the rare occasions in which I'm in bear-canister-required territory. That's partly because the Ursack (if properly fastened) will also keep out birds and rodents, and partly because I can't throw (arthritis) so can't do a bear hang. It's also far easier to pack something flexible, rather than rigid, inside my pack. The same would be true of your dry bag without the tupperware!
Posted by: Spock

Re: Food storage - 08/02/10 05:41 PM