7-Day trip planning

Posted by: Birdkiller

7-Day trip planning - 01/01/13 08:04 PM

Hello,

This is my first post here, and I'm really hoping it will be a good stay.

My parents and I are planning on taking a backpacking trip during the summer break (I'm a full time college student) as we travel to visit family.

We are looking for a trip, around 7 days, that is somewhere between Arizona and Ohio. My dad and I both backpack pretty often here (Arizona), and in Colorado, so we'd rather go somewhere else, but are not sure where.

While my dad and I are both experienced, my mom has only been on a few trips, and will be the limiting factor for the difficulty of the trip (Not to say she can't do it, just nothing too epic).

So I would really appreciate any help for both a trip, but also help planning the trip.

Thanks,
Cole

www.needGod.com
Posted by: Glenn Roberts

Re: 7-Day trip planning - 01/01/13 08:22 PM

The Ozarks, Great Smoky Mountain National Park (slight detour to get there), or there are some pretty pockets of backcountry in Kentucky, Illinois, and Indiana (might not be able to get a 7 day trip in one of them, but you could always spend 2 or 3 nights in several of them, with a shower at a motel between hikes. Kentucky offers, among others, the Red River Gorge (natural arches), Mammoth Cave NP (nice backcountry as well as the caverns), and parts of the Sheltowee Trace. Southern Illinois has, I think, a nice area, though I've never been there. Indiana has the Hoosier National Forest and Knobstone Trail. Don't overlook Ohio, either: Zaleski, Shawnee, Vesuvius, and other areas in southeast Ohio.

If you don't mind a bigger detour, you could swing up to Lake Superior and spend some time at Isle Royale NP.

Re: 7-Day trip planning - 01/02/13 01:19 AM

Awesome, thank you very much for the suggestions, I'll look into those places.

Any other suggestions from people would be appreciated.

Montana is a possibility too.

Thanks,
Cole

www.needGod.com