I've touched on some elements of this review and thoughts previously, but the core elements are new. These components are my thoughts on a recent test-run of my newly acquired Tarptent Squall 2, and how I came to choose this particular beastie.

My background is that I started backpacking when I was an eleven-year old Tenderfoot recently bridged over from Webelos. I was taught from the get-go that tents were for car camping. They're heavy, bulky, extra work to setup and take down. From an early age, I was assimilated into the anti-tentite community. Everywhere I went, I relied on my trusty Taco and Bivy setup, and eventually a Silnylon awning I could prop up with my trekking poles. It was a comfortable system.
However, my most recent trip through Yosemite took place while the Vogelsang region was undergoing a massive hatch of mosquitoes. My best friend had lugged along his dad's 3-man REI Half-Dome tent, and it was a lifesaver, because there was nothing my awning could do to protect me from the clouds of skeeters. This rocked my anti-tentite faith.

Just about this time, I stumbled across the Big Agnes Scout 2 tent, and thought it was the finest thing around. I ordered mine from REI and waited a month with it on backorder, looking forward to trying it out. When it finally arrived, I kind of had to conceal my disappointment. Someone on another forum stated that it was 90% a great idea, but the Scout's missing 10% was the fraction that really counted. This was very true.
Determined to be happy with it, I tinkered with outboarding the trekking poles with extra cord and some bowlines, but it just never sat right with me. It was too poorly ventilated, too dismal, and just seemed to overlook the smaller details that could've made it great. The Scout was a poor argument in favor of tent-kind.