Hydration
Climbing

Backcountry Gear Clearance

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#157915 - 11/28/11 10:03 AM Staking out in Snow
finallyME Offline

Loc: Utah
No, this isn't about T-bones. This is about anchoring in the winter white stuff. Let's face it, I am a newb when it comes to winter camping. The few times I have gone, I either just used my bivy, or the snow wasn't deep enough, and I just shoveled it to bare ground and used the dirt. So, I want to hear from the experts. What are the different techniques? What are the different gear choices. I bought a bunch of snow stakes last winter and never used them. Is that all there is?

#157926 - 11/28/11 12:06 PM Re: Staking out in Snow [Re: finallyME]
oldranger Offline

Loc: California (southern)
You often want to compact fluffy snow before you pitch your tent. Sometimes you have to improvise some sort of a buried deadman to make an anchor. Snow varies considerably in density and holding power.

#157928 - 11/28/11 01:12 PM Re: Staking out in Snow [Re: finallyME]
hikerduane Offline

Loc: Meadow Valley, CA