Osprey Volt 75 VS Osprey Aether AG 70

Posted by: JamesL

Osprey Volt 75 VS Osprey Aether AG 70 - 08/31/17 10:42 AM

This is my first time posting here and have a question about these packs and your experience.

My son and I current have Teton Explore 4000 and Teton Scout 3400 backpacks. These have served us well so far as beginner backpacks and have taken them on 3 - 5 day backpacking trips.

However we are preparing for Philmont next year doing a 12 day backpacking trip, and would like to upgrade these. My son will be 16 by then, probably around 5' 8", I'm 6' 1".

I was thinking about buying Osprey Volt 75 for myself, and Osprey Volt 60 for my son. However, someone just pointed me to the Osprey Aether AG 70 as well. The only real benefit I see to that is the day pack, is that really worth the extra ~$80? I already have a pretty nice Osprey Daylight Day pack.

Just curious on your thoughts. I see the Volt 75 for ~$150 on amazon and the Aether AG 70 for ~$232 on Amazon.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Osprey Volt 75 VS Osprey Aether AG 70 - 08/31/17 11:45 AM

I am not familiar with these packs--I've never been able to wear an Osprey pack because their hip belts all cause my hips considerable pain (just to illustrate that pack fit is almost as individual as shoe fit).

However, I'm very familiar with teenage boys, having raised three of them ahd then having four grandsons. Your boy is at what is usually the most rapid growth stage, so you may want to wait a new pack until closer to the event--or you may be buying another one by next summer! Of course if his present pack is already too small, you may have to bite the bullet.

Pack measurement has little to do with height, but depends on torso length--the length between that bump at the base of your neck and a point on your spine level with the top of your pelvic girdle. That measurement doesn't necessarily correspond with height. Lots more info about fitting packs on the home page of this site.