Hiking and Foraging

Posted by: poshchic

Hiking and Foraging - 08/14/16 05:12 PM

Hello everyone! Is anyone here foraging while hiking? Not that you rely your main source of food from foraging but just mostly doing it as a hobby. If not, would you be interested to try foraging while hiking or backpacking?

I'm new to hiking and I'm noticing that foraging is becoming more and more popular nowadays.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Hiking and Foraging - 08/14/16 05:47 PM

Much of "foraging" can be contrary to the principles of "leave no trace." We need to be careful not to damage rare plants or animals, to leave enough for the animals that may depend on the items (such as berries), and not to disturb the vegetation. Cutting green wood is always a no-no, especially in national park or national forest jurisdictions.

In many places, such activities as mushroom picking and berry picking are regulated. Small amounts for immediate consumption are usually OK. Larger amounts are not. Of course, fishing and hunting are regulated by the states, limited to certain seasons and amounts, and licenses (usually very expensive for nonresidents) are required.

Of course, this time of year many of us "graze" our way along the trail when the huckleberries are ripe! Being careful, of course, that the berry or two we snatch in passing is high up enough to be out of the "reach" of passing dogs! grin
Posted by: Barefoot Friar

Re: Hiking and Foraging - 08/15/16 08:47 AM

There's a very romantic idea floating around that a person could just walk out into the woods and find everything they need right next to the trail. Unfortunately, that's not true. In fact, it has never been true, ever. Forging for enough calories to live takes a whole lot of time and energy -- more time and energy than most people have, even devoted full time. It's why human populations didn't really start growing until people settled down and began farming grain.