Wallow Fire, AZ

Posted by: coyotemaster

Wallow Fire, AZ - 10/16/11 08:39 AM

This was a huge fire.
Quote:
The blaze burned for 41 days, torched 841 square miles and destroyed an estimated 16 million mature Ponderosa pines

Article says 300 miles of hiking trails are still closed.

Wallow Fire

Posted by: oldranger

Re: Wallow Fire, AZ - 10/16/11 09:31 PM

I have fond memories of many trips in that area. Just remember, it will come back; it will not look the same, but it will still be beautiful country.
Posted by: ppine

Re: Wallow Fire, AZ - 10/17/11 11:12 AM

Arizonans,

Ppine is short for ponderosa pine and it is what I studied in college. Arizona has the largest ppine forest in the world. I worked in AZ many times mostly on the Navajo Res, and my Dad had a ranch near Flagstaff for 30 years. A couple of thoughts.

This forest type is the driest in N Amer after pinion and juniper which are not merchantable under normal conditions. Ponderosa and its very close relative Jeffrey pine, forests have evolved to have a very close relationship with fire.

I hope that readers of this forum who care about natural resources, realize how many problems have been created by strict fire suppression in the last 100 hundred years. That problem has been compounded by restricted logging (and thinning) in the last 20 years.

Under natural conditions, ppine forests will burn every 7-10 years with low intensity ground fires. Now we have intermittent catastrophic crown fires every 40-100 years. We have a lot of catch-up work to do. It is my hope that in our lifetimes we will able to utilize small diameter trees and brush to run wood-fired power plants, and make ethanol fuels for motor vehicles. It is one of the only ways to pay for the massive clean-up of our forests that needs to happen.

Re: Wallow Fire, AZ - 10/17/11 02:24 PM