Backpacking pants

Posted by: smith70

Backpacking pants - 03/15/11 02:44 AM

Looking to hear everyone's philosophy on backpacking pants: convertible/zip-offs vs regular, waterproof vs more breathable, slim vs baggy, etc. Favorite models or brands? Lightweight or do-it-yourself alternatives?
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Backpacking pants - 03/15/11 04:02 AM

There's a rather long thread on convertible pants in the Light Gear Talk section. Click on "Light Gear Talk and go down the list a ways; last post was March 4. Or do a search (see the sticky thread at the beginning of General Discussion).
Posted by: james__12345

Re: Backpacking pants - 03/15/11 08:16 AM

Oregonmouse is right, the regular vs zip off is covered about as much as it can be in that thread here is a link to it.
http://www.backpacking.net/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=147111#Post147111

I think as far as waterproof from what I understand (and I'm pretty new to all this, so I could be mistaken) most people use a material like nylon that dries so quick its really not an issue anyway. Usually waterproof also means it doesn't breathe too well and thats probably not going to be too comfortable for long. If I'm mixed up about that someone please correct me.
Posted by: lori

Re: Backpacking pants - 03/15/11 11:07 AM

I will only add (since there are other threads to peruse on the subject of pants) that waterproof pants are only a good idea if it is very cold while you are hiking. If it's raining and above 45F I will hike in nylon pants as I always do, because to do otherwise would mean soaking myself in my own sweat. The only reason to wear rain pants is to prevent hypothermia. If the nylon pants are wet when I get to camp I'll swap into my base layer bottoms and put the waterproof pants over those until I go to bed, and let the nylon pants dry under shelter.
Posted by: TomD

Re: Backpacking pants - 03/15/11 04:06 PM