Help me decide on some "Winter Traction"

Posted by: Bryce

Help me decide on some "Winter Traction" - 12/22/08 07:06 PM

I've never gone in the winter, but I'd like to extend my hiking to 4-season. I just picked up a pair of snowshoes and now I want something a little less geared towards the fluffy stuff and more suited to the icy stuff for recreational trail hiking.

I live in the greater NYC area and I plan on using one of the device-types below on trails ( no ice wall scaling, purely trails), help me pick what would be the most cost-effective, durable, easy to use, best traction on the trail:

STABILicers:
http://www.32north.com/prod_cover.htm

Instep Crampons:
http://greatoutdoorsdepot.com/cmi-instep-crampons.html

Microspikes:
http://www.spadout.com/p/kahtoola-microspikes/#

6-pt Heel and Instep Crampons:
http://tinyurl.com/8n84lw

Thanks!

Posted by: thecook

Re: Help me decide on some "Winter Traction" - 12/22/08 09:56 PM

Warning: I have no experience with any of these products and do not go ice climbing or maountaineering. However, I do go winter camping and one of the most frequent places we head is up a frozen river. For that, the crampons on the bottom of our snow shoes work just fine. You'll need to have fairly agressive crampons and resharpen them every so often. Having said that, on the occasions when there is bitter cold but little snow the snow shoes are overkill and something like the stabelicers or the chain traction would be usefull. I'd think that actually trying to hike on ice in the instep crampons would quickly become misery. They look more useful on something that they can dig into further than solid ice. Someone with some mountaineering experience chime in here!
Posted by: Trout

Re: Help me decide on some "Winter Traction" - 12/23/08 05:18 PM

I have the microspikes & they seem to work very well & are quite light. They are easy to store & put on and seem to stay on fairly well in most conditions. They are a little pricey, but do the job.