Taking a Newbie on a Thru Hike

Posted by: Gypsy Smoke

Taking a Newbie on a Thru Hike - 01/17/17 10:59 PM

My partner wants to come hiking with me, and I am thrilled. He's never done a long thru hike though, and I admit I'm still no expert. There are two hikes I still have yet to do up here in BC. One being the West Coast Trail, the other being the Sunshine Coast Trail. The WCT is 75km, and the SCT is 180km. We're planning on going in the summer months so he has some time to accumulate his gear.

The WCT can be some rough terrain, so I was leaning towards the SCT. Since it is further away I'd like to it as a thru hike instead of splitting it up. Is it unrealistic to except him to do the SCT if we slow it down and take a couple extra days? I'm worried about wearing him out haha.

Any advice so we can both get the most out of it?
Posted by: toddfw2003

Re: Taking a Newbie on a Thru Hike - 01/18/17 12:11 AM

I took a friend of mine on a 80 mile loop in southern utah last may. She had done plenty of car camping so I figured it wouldnt be an issue bringing her along. Boy was I wrong. She was absolutely miserable and through all the whining and complaining I became miserable.

Like most of us on this site I a couple full sets of extra gear. I take friends on one or two night trips but unless that they a backpacker who has invested in their own gear I wont take anyone on long trips again. I tell people before I take them out now that they have to be able to go multiple days with out a shower, be able to take a dump outdoors, be ok hiking in bear country, no smokers ( the last thing i want to smell is cigarette smoke when i am in nature) and no whiners
Posted by: balzaccom

Re: Taking a Newbie on a Thru Hike - 01/18/17 12:36 AM

My suggestion is to take him on at least two shorter trips (ideally in a variety of conditions) before attempting anything close to what you are considering.