Long Haul? Food For A Month?

Posted by: TomFenton

Long Haul? Food For A Month? - 02/23/10 10:18 AM

I am new to Backpacking/hiking/camping but am planing a trip across Canada (see The Canada Experience)
I'm wondering if its possible to put a months worth of food in your pack with everything else that you need to survive.
What is the most food you have put into a pack? and how long did it last you?
Posted by: Pika

Re: Long Haul? Food For A Month? - 02/23/10 11:11 AM

I have carried as much as three weeks worth at just about 2 pounds per day (44 pounds total). On this particular trip I was carrying about 15 pounds of gear so my starting weight was just about 60 pounds. This was for an extended trip in the High Sierra with temps to freezing and, I was a constantly hungry teenager.

If you don't mind a starting weight of about 75 pounds, you can carry a month's worth of food as long as your gear is near the above weight. Or, you can start with some body fat and cut down on the daily ration.

Personally, I would arrange for resupply stops at whatever intervals are possible.
Posted by: hikerduane

Re: Long Haul? Food For A Month? - 02/23/10 12:53 PM

You'll need a way to secure your food every night from big critters. My neighbor used to go in the Sierra a month at a time with olive oil and pasta, had to carry a lot of weight with the old gear.
Posted by: aimless

Re: Long Haul? Food For A Month? - 02/23/10 02:04 PM

A month's worth is just possible -- under nearly ideal conditions.

How much food weight you'd need to carry would depend a lot on factors like your own weight (smaller people need fewer calories than big people), your body fat reserves, how far you intend to hike in a day and how much elevation change is involved.