Organization

Posted by: Jim M

Organization - 02/25/15 06:51 PM

I'm not overly obsessiveness about things, but.....
My pack is very well organised. At least when I start a trip. However, as days go by things just seem to get thrown in the pack. I do keep snacks and rain gear in reach and my sleep bag is on the bottom but i often have to dump too much out to get what I need. Is there some secret formula for staying organized? I have thought if I used special colored stuff sacks that might help, but I never got around to it and then again a plastic bag is lighter in most cases. So my dry warm clothes sit in a lumpy white plastic garbage bag. My pot and stove and cup get shoved in where ever they will fit, same for the Theremorest (c) pad. My firstaid kit fills a fare size freezer zip-loc (c) bag (I'm an EMT and my friends seem to rely on me for extra supplies in that regard, even thought they shouldn't). And that is always in the lid of the pack, so that is where I can find it.
Jim
Posted by: aimless

Re: Organization - 02/25/15 07:51 PM

Is there some secret formula for staying organized?

The only pre-existing structure for keeping things organized in your pack are the pockets it has built into it. Ultralight packs often incorporate fewer pockets, since these require more fabric for a given volume. Beyond that you can add your own stuff sacks, Ziplocs and various ditty bags to help keep items organized. These also add weight.

So, the first decision will be how much weight is it worth to you to collect items into groupings, which are bagged up together so they can be more easily stowed and then found. A pile of loose stuff dropped into one big pocket is never going to be very organized. At the other extreme, putting every item in its own bag would be insane because it gains you nothing. You need to strike a happy balance.