Newbie here! Hello!

Posted by: Tina2017

Newbie here! Hello! - 05/02/17 03:12 AM

Hello, my name is Tina.

I consider myself a casual/recreational hiker. LOVE the outdoors - get out when I can but my schedule is whacky. It's been difficult to plan day hikes with friends - schedules not meshing.

Last backpacking trip was Rae Lakes Loop 2016. Was a tiring but fun trip.

Going to do Half Dome for the first time in September. Kind of prepping for that now (going to do Mt. Baldy a couple times at least for 'training').

Have a bad knee that puts kinduva damper on things but nothing a knee brace won't temporarily cure.

I'm hoping to get some inspiration/tips/stories from people (preferably female solo hikers) here to NOT be afraid to go on day hikes alone. I have some irrational fear about hiking alone.. but I'm DESPERATE to get outdoors! I think the city life has gotten to me. I feel... stuck?

Anyway, looking forward to chatting here.
Posted by: HPD

Re: Newbie here! Hello! - 05/02/17 09:51 AM

Welcome Tina!
I'm kinda new here myself. I'm not a female solo hiker but I think you may find at least some of what you're looking for here.
Good luck getting out of the city!
Posted by: balzaccom

Re: Newbie here! Hello! - 05/03/17 12:05 AM

Hi Tina

Welcome! Glad to have you join our little group. I have to say that with a sore knee, Half Dome has to be just about the worst hike you could take. If you're interested in other options, let us know. We have lots of ideas and experience here.
Posted by: 4evrplan

Re: Newbie here! Hello! - 05/03/17 10:59 AM

Welcome Tina. If you're looking for posts from very knowledgeable and helpful female solo hikers, I highly recommend following wandering_daisy and oregonmouse. I'm neither female nor solo (yet - to the solo part, not the female part LOL), but I find both of these women inspirational.
Posted by: BrianLe

Re: Newbie here! Hello! - 05/03/17 06:29 PM