Wanting to get my feet wet and try backpacking.

Posted by: jokker78

Wanting to get my feet wet and try backpacking. - 02/01/15 09:12 PM

Hi all im new here and love camping.

Hi I am a newbie when it comes to backpacking, I have truck camped many many nights. Ive kayak camped . I have a kelty 2 man back packing tent, canister type stove. Most of the lightweight gear from kayak camping. My girlfriend and I would like to try backpacking.
As for as backpacks go. Do we both need big packs or say me get a 60 l and her maybe a 35, I figure we would each carry food and water and sleeping bag and sleeping pad.
We only have an academy and gander mountain for stores local to buy gear. Or walmart has some stuff.
Should I buy cheaper packs to see if we like it or just buy good ones first?
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Wanting to get my feet wet and try backpacking. - 02/01/15 10:10 PM

As you'll notice, I've moved your post to the Backcountry Beginners section where there is quite a bit of information. The first (sticky) post in this section, by phat, has excellent information. You may want to read some of the other fairly recent posts, too.

Have you checked out the articles on the home page of this site, left hand column? There is lots of information there on gear selection including some excellent gear lists.