New to hiking need backpack help

Posted by: mvill

New to hiking need backpack help - 03/29/10 10:54 AM

I don't want to spend more than $70 and I will be going on 2-3 day hikes and I am 6'1" and about 200lb( male). I don't mind large packs but don't want to go over 80 liters. There is a Lowe ALPINE Kanga Himal SE 80+10 in new condition on craigslist for $70 or there are some on amazon called TETON fox 75+10 and the TETON scout 3400, also NEBO Sports Wilderness 60, and a
High Peak Kathmandu 70 + 10. Which would you recommend?

http://www.amazon.com/High-Peak-Kathmand...4281&sr=8-1

http://tulsa.craigslist.org/spo/1663491776.html

http://www.amazon.com/Sports-Scout3400-I...4328&sr=8-1

http://www.overstock.com/Sports-Toys/NEBO-Sports-Wilderness-60-Backpack/3036381/product.html

http://www.overstock.com/Sports-Toys/Fox-75-10-Mars-Red-Backpack/496056/product.html

Which one?
Posted by: wesarnold

Re: New to hiking need backpack help - 04/07/10 10:30 PM

I'm a noob myself - so you can take or leave my advice:

You get what you pay for. I'm sure you can get good deals on some cheaper brand stuff - but I would stick with a big-name manufacturer i.e. kelty, deuter, osprey, gregory, etc. There's plenty of them. Go to REI.com, campmore.com, moosejaw.com, or any of the other big suppliers and look at what brands they sell - and then go look on craigslist and ebay for one of the better brands.

And that's not to say the bags you mentioned aren't good - I've just never heard of them.

Good luck! grin
Posted by: Glenn

Re: New to hiking need backpack help - 04/07/10 10:34 PM

Sorry, I can't help you out either - I'm not familiar with the packs you describe.
Posted by: TrekkerScott

Re: New to hiking need backpack help - 04/08/10 03:04 AM

A good time to find packs on the cheap is during the off season at specialty backpacking stores such as campmore, REI, backwoods, or your local stores.

I found a really decent women's Kelty backpack for my girlfriend for only $80.