Favorite hiking boots/shoes

Posted by: Jandroos

Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/13/09 12:23 AM

What's your favorite brand and model of hiking boot?
Posted by: billstephenson

Re: Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/14/09 02:17 PM

I've been wearing Merrell's for around five years now. I don't have access to try on many other quality brands, but I always try every pair available at several stores before buying.

The current pair are Merrell Chameleons. The previous pairs were Merrell Radius, which I liked a little more.

But it really doesn't matter what I like, you really need to try them all on too.

Bill

Posted by: aimless

Re: Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/14/09 08:38 PM

Feet differ so much that a great boot/shoe for one person's feet will be a horror show for another person's feet.

I happen to like the "plain" Vasque Breeze boots, without the goretex liner. My feet are both narrow and bony, with a well-defined arch. For some reason Vasque boots seem to like my feet a bit better than most other brands, so I tend to stick with them.
Posted by: phat

Re: Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/14/09 08:49 PM

Originally Posted By Jandroos

Any brand and model that fits right and feels good. Now let me explain to you why this is a pointless discussion:

1) Everyone's feet are different. What some people like, others will hate. Proper fit depends on the person and the boot.

2) Every model and brand is changed too frequently for any sort of consistency, with rare exceptions.

Posted by: Bushman

Re: Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/16/09 01:37 PM

the one that fits!

Asic running shoes! Friend has like 500+ miles on them. I have maybe 150.

The boots i have are Wolverine, i like them.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: Favorite hiking boots/shoes - 09/16/09 04:58 PM

Phat is absolutely right! The best footwear is what fits you and is comfortable for you.