4 season tent

Posted by: mblanchard

4 season tent - 04/22/11 10:08 AM

I'm looking for a reasonably priced 4 season, 2 person tent.

Being a poor college student, I consider "reasonably priced" to be under or around $200. I've been checking online, and found a few options however I didn't know if there's something in particular that i'm overlooking. Weight is not the hugest issue for me right now. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
Matt
Posted by: oldranger

Re: 4 season tent - 04/22/11 10:40 AM

Four season under $200? That's tough. Keep your eye out for a slightly used tent or a great sale...

Do you really plan to do a lot of backpacking in winter conditions? For most of us, a quality three season tent works just fine (and is a good bit lighter). For $200, that is achievable.
Posted by: lori

Re: 4 season tent - 04/22/11 10:47 AM

Sometimes folks think they need a 4 season tent - if you are deliberately going out in winter a lot, where it snows and gets strong wind, you probably do. If you are camping on snow in decent weather, and only do so once in a while, a 3 season will get you by.

I would look at the Scarp - it's one of the lighter, less expensive 4 season options. Not suitable everywhere but a true double wall with the option of extra poles, and either a solid or net inner. If you could spring for both, it would be a true 4 season tent - net in summer, solid inner in winter to keep out spindrift, relatively stable all the way around.

Post where and when you think you will need the 4 season tent... bunch of winter campers on here can share what they think you would need for that.
Posted by: mblanchard

Re: 4 season tent - 04/22/11 09:41 PM

Yeah, I'm guessing a 3 season tent would probably do. I'm from new england, however I plan on using it in December in the grand canyon... as a first excursion anyway.

Regarding a solid 3 season tent in the same price range... Any suggestions?

thanks again,
matt
Posted by: Pika